MN FFA.png

The 92nd annual Minnesota FFA Convention concluded Friday with the election of new officers. 

Locally, Nicole Koziolek, a high school student from Randolph, will serve as State Secretary. 

Emily Matejka of Martin County West will serve as the State President. Wyatt Halvorson of Thief River Falls will serve as the Vice President. 

Dr. Zane Sheehan, state supervisor of agricultural education for Minnesota and FFA state advisor, reported what he called exceptional and exciting news of expansion for agricultural education.
“This has been a huge year of growth for the Minnesota FFA Association in terms of agriculture programs, which are the backbone of FFA and our chapters across the state,” said Dr. Sheehan. 
Dr. Sheehan reported 14 new agriculture, food, and natural resource programs across the state. There are now 291 teachers, including 17 new instructors, offering more than 35,000 students an opportunity to learn about food, natural resources, fiber, and agriculture.
The final group of FFA Proficiency Awards were presented to members whose Supervised Agricultural Experiences are in the area of Plant Systems. Winners included:
  • Agriscience Research-Plant Systems - George Cinader, Academy for Sciences and Agriculture FFA, sponsored by the Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council;
  • Diversified Agricultural Production - Jacob Huhn, Litchfield FFA, sponsored by Petersen Farms Inc.;
  • Diversified Crop Production Entrepreneurship - Nicole Koziolek, Randolph FFA, sponsored by Land O’Lakes;
  • Diversified Crop Production Placement - Marc Collins, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg FFA, sponsored by the Minnesota Crop Improvement Association;
  • Diversified Horticulture - Daylyn Huper, United South Central FFA, sponsored by Compeer Financial Services;
  • Fiber & Oil Crop Production - Isaac Sowers, Maple River FFA, sponsored by the Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council;
  • Forage Production - Grace Woitalla, Holdingford FFA, sponsored by Corteva;
  • Landscape Management - Sydnee Hubner, Pipestone FFA, sponsored by AgriBank; and
  • Turf Grass Management - Jacob Price, Sleepy Eye FFA, sponsored by Northland Ford Dealers.
Gold Award winners in the Agriscience Fair Plant Systems category were Gracie Nohl, Hancock FFA; and four students from Academy for Sciences and Agriculture FFA: Damani Stewart, Holly Howard, George Cinader and Cassidy Calcaterra.
While many of the annual Career Development Events (CDE) will take place April 27-29, results of the state’s Leadership Development Events (LDE) were announced today. The following are top team and individual winners: 
  • Agricultural Communications - Cyril Johnson, Staples-Motley FFA, individual, and Staples-Motley FFA, team;
  • Agricultural Sales - Lily Spike, Buffalo FFA, individual, and Hancock FFA, team;
  • Food Science and Technology - Matthew Loch, Kimball FFA, individual, and Kimball FFA, team;
  • Employment Skills - Matthew Schule, Lewiston-Altura FFA, individual;
  • Agricultural Issues - Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted FFA, team;
  • Best Informed Greenhand (BIG) - Gracie Ross, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted FFA, individual, and Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted FFA, team;
  • Discussion Meet - Mikayla Thorson, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted FFA, individual;
  • Marketing Plan - Buffalo FFA, team;
  • Creed Speaking - Bobby Jeritz, Randolph FFA, individual;
  • Extemporaneous Speaking - Elizabeth Johnson, Rockford FFA, individual;
  • Conduct of Chapter Meetings - Grand Meadow FFA, team;
  • Parliamentary Procedure - Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted, team; and
  • Public Speaking - Marissa Johnson, Tracy FFA, individual.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you