Dakota Electric Association’s membership let their voices be heard in the cooperative’s annual election.

This year, four incumbents were re-elected  and the bylaw change was approved.  

The election results were as follows:  

District 1 – Jerry Pittman, Lakeville, (incumbent) received 5,821 votes; Kevin Grass,  Burnsville, received 2,191 votes. 

District 2 – Clay Van De Bogart, Lakeville, received 5,541 votes; Michael Hanninen,  Lakeville, received 2,439 votes. 

District 3 – Kenneth Danner, Apple Valley, (incumbent) received 6,740 votes; Jarod Griswold,  Apple Valley, received 1,215 votes. 

District 4 – Judy Kimmes, Hampton, (incumbent) received 3,947 votes; Vijendra (VJ)  Agarwal, Inver Grove Heights, received 1,715 votes; Michael Cahn, Rosemount, received 929 votes;  Philip Hernick, Eagan, received 737 votes; Paula Overby, Eagan, received 750 votes. 

The bylaw amendment that provides guidance for the removal of a director who passed  away or is incapacitated passed (7,576 yes; 344 no).  

While the annual meeting was canceled due to COVID-19, the elections process continued as  normal with voting taking place by mail and online. The annual leadership reports were made into a  video that is available online.  

“We are sorry we could not hold the annual meeting this year,” Board Chair Jerry Pittman said. “However, we still wanted to provide the reports to our members, so we made them available in  a short video.” 

CEO Greg Miller highlighted how even in the midst of COVID-19, Dakota Electric has  continued providing quality member services while many employees work remotely. The company  has also continued with the advanced meter upgrade project and facility upgrades for electric growth  in the area. Board Chair Pittman mentioned the company’s commitment to community, providing  funds to assist agencies during the pandemic and continuing to manage board business as they meet  remotely. Board Treasurer Jim Sheldon provided a report on the solid 2020 financials.  

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to darkin@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you